Bausch + Lomb Warning Letter on Eye Drops: Not a Recall
FDA cited sterile-manufacturing lapses at Bausch + Lomb's Tampa plant, redacted the products and ordered no recall. Check your lot; know when to call a doctor.
FDA’s warning letter to Bausch + Lomb, dated September 4, 2026, is not a recall, and its public version names no eye drop brand or lot. It follows a March 12–20 inspection of the company’s sterile-drug facility at 8500 Hidden River Parkway in Tampa, Florida. The letter classifies the inspected drug products as adulterated because of manufacturing deficiencies, but the product names are redacted, so the letter alone cannot connect your bottle to the findings.
The practical step is narrow. Compare your exact product name and lot number with current FDA recall records and Bausch + Lomb’s product-specific notices, and treat significant eye pain, light sensitivity or sudden vision changes as a same-day call to an eye doctor whatever a recall list says. The cited evidence does not establish whether a product-specific recall or customer notification followed the letter. Read the FDA warning letter.
Pick your product, lot-check status and symptoms; the result updates as you tap.
Action Check for the Tampa Warning Letter
Three answers, one result. General information, not a diagnosis.
Check the lot, and consider a single-use vial as a precaution
Compare the exact product name, lot number and expiration date with FDA recall records and product notices from Bausch + Lomb. Switching is a personal precaution to discuss with a pharmacist; FDA has not directed it, and the public letter does not say which container formats are involved.
The public letter redacts product names, so the Bausch + Lomb name alone neither matches nor clears your bottle.
Every Outcome at a Glance
| Your situation | What to do |
|---|---|
| Pain, light sensitivity, discharge or blurred vision, with any product | Stop the product and call an eye doctor today |
| An official notice lists your exact product and lot | Stop using it and follow the notice |
| B+L drops or lens solution, lot not yet checked, no or mild symptoms | Check the lot; consider a single-use vial or other switch as a precaution |
| Other brand, lot not yet checked, mild irritation | Check the lot for the product you use |
| Any product, lot checked with no match | No action; keep monitoring recalls |
| Other brand, lot not yet checked, no symptoms | No action from this letter; keep monitoring recalls |
Source: FDA warning letter to Bausch + Lomb dated September 4, 2026, plus BioSpace, RAPS and Fierce Pharma reporting. The letter names no product or lot; this check cannot confirm or clear a specific bottle.
The Letter Requests a Risk Assessment, Not a Recall
The letter documents manufacturing and sterility-control concerns at the Tampa facility, requests corrective action, and directs the company to assess whether measures such as customer notifications or product recalls may be appropriate. FDA requested a written response within 15 business days.
That request is not proof that either action occurred. A regulator can ask a company to evaluate product-level action without using the warning letter itself to remove a particular product from distribution.
BioSpace reported that Bausch + Lomb said the warning letter did not require a product recall or an operational shutdown. That is an attributed company position about what the letter required. It is not evidence that no later action occurred or that every product was unaffected.
Two overstatements are both wrong on this evidence: that every Bausch + Lomb eye drop is affected, and that later product-specific action could not have occurred.
From March Inspection to September Letter
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| March 12–20, 2026 | FDA inspected the Tampa sterile-drug facility. |
| After the inspection | The facility received a Form 483, according to Fierce Pharma. |
| April 2026 | Bausch + Lomb submitted an initial response, according to BioSpace. |
| September 4, 2026 | FDA dated the warning letter. |
| September 15, 2026 | The letter was published, BioSpace reported. |
September 4 is the date on the FDA letter. September 15 is a publication date reported by BioSpace, not a second issuance.
BioSpace also reports that FDA viewed the company’s April response as demonstrating insufficient commitment to significant design remediation. BioSpace’s account of the timeline is a secondary report, not an independent finding about the safety of any individual product.
The cited material does not establish whether Bausch + Lomb has completed its corrective work, whether FDA has verified remediation, or whether the warning-letter matter has been closed.
What FDA Documented at the Tampa Plant
FDA classified the inspected drug products as adulterated under section 501(a)(2)(B) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act because the manufacturing methods, facilities or controls did not conform to current good manufacturing practice requirements. “Adulterated” here is a statutory classification tied to manufacturing compliance. It is not proof that every distributed bottle contained microorganisms.
The letter describes recurring microbial findings, inadequate contamination controls, poor aseptic practices, deficiencies in restricted-access barrier-system design, inadequate complaint investigations and an ineffective quality system.
It identifies Serratia marcescens and Stenotrophomonas maltophilia in environmental monitoring, while Pseudomonas aeruginosa and Aspergillus brasiliensis were identified in consumer-complaint samples. Those are distinct evidence contexts: organisms found in a monitored manufacturing environment are not the same as organisms identified in samples tied to consumer complaints. The FDA letter gives the findings and organism details.
The Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society separately highlights the restricted-access barrier-system concerns and quotes FDA as saying the company did not operate an effective quality system in accordance with current good manufacturing practice. Read the RAPS account.
| FDA finding | What it means | What it does not show |
|---|---|---|
| Repeated microbial recoveries in monitored areas | Contamination controls needed investigation and correction | Every finished product was contaminated |
| Poor aseptic practices during filling | Operator actions could compromise sterility | A particular retail bottle lost sterility |
| Barrier-system design deficiencies | Exposed sterile operations may not have been adequately protected | Every line had the same deficiency |
| Organisms in complaint samples | The complaints and samples required investigation | The organisms caused infections or appeared in all products |
| Complaint and quality-system failures | Systems for finding and correcting problems were inadequate | Patients were injured, or every complaint was confirmed contamination |
These findings explain FDA’s regulatory concern. They do not establish contamination, infection or injury across all Bausch + Lomb products.
What the Redactions Leave Unknown
The facility-level concerns are clear. The redactions block product-level conclusions.
| Documented | Not disclosed publicly |
|---|---|
| FDA inspected the Tampa facility March 12–20, 2026 | Which products and lines sit behind “(b)(4)” |
| The warning letter is dated September 4, 2026 | Whether customer notices or recalls followed |
| Manufacturing, sterility-control, complaint and quality-system deficiencies | Whether corrective work was completed |
| Named organisms in environmental monitoring and complaint samples | Whether FDA verified remediation |
| A requested risk assessment covering notifications and recalls | The matter’s current regulatory status |
Nothing in the public letter establishes that a named Bausch + Lomb brand or lot was implicated, that all of the company’s eye drops are unsafe, that a particular consumer’s bottle was contaminated, that the findings caused patient injuries, or that the risk-assessment request itself produced a recall.
The absence of a visible product name is not proof that no product was involved. It means the public version does not disclose enough to identify one.
Form 483, Warning Letter and Recall Are Separate Steps
Coverage of the Tampa facility mentions several documents and actions. They are not interchangeable.
| Step | What the evidence shows | For your bottle |
|---|---|---|
| Form 483 | Fierce Pharma reports inspection observations followed the March visit | Not a product-recall notice |
| OAI classification | A third-party eye-drop safety tracker characterizes the inspection as “Official Action Indicated” | Identifies no recalled product or lot |
| Warning letter | FDA described compliance concerns and requested correction and a written response | Does not tell consumers to stop a named product |
| Requested risk assessment | FDA asked the company to weigh notifications or recalls | Actions under consideration are not actions taken |
| Product recall | A separate action naming a product in distribution | Gives product and lot details you can match |
The public Tampa letter provides no product name, package configuration or affected lot numbers, which is exactly what a recall notice would supply.
Checking the Bottle You Have
The warning letter cannot connect your bottle to the redacted products or lines. Do not try to work out a manufacturing site from an unexplained package code.
Record these details from the package:
- Exact product name.
- Formulation or strength.
- Container format, such as a multidose bottle or single-use vial.
- Whether the label says preservative-free.
- Lot number.
- Expiration date.
- Package size and, for a prescription product, the pharmacy-label information.
Compare them with FDA’s recalls, market withdrawals and safety alerts and with product-specific communications from Bausch + Lomb. The manufacturer name alone is not a match. Do not infer that Blink, Biotrue, Soothe or another associated brand is involved unless an official notice names the exact product and the relevant lots.
Switching products while the picture is unclear, for example to a single-use vial you discuss with a pharmacist, is a personal precaution. FDA has not directed it, and the public letter does not say which container formats are involved.
Lens Solution Users Face an Unresolved Scope Question
Secondary reports conflict about what the Tampa facility makes. Fierce Pharma describes the site as producing prescription and over-the-counter eye medications, while RAPS mentions contact lenses and lens-care products. The cited evidence does not resolve that disagreement, so no definitive list of Tampa-made products can be built from it. The same lot check applies to lens solution as to drops.
A Damaged or Odd-Looking Bottle Is a Separate Problem
The Tampa letter cannot explain damaged packaging, a leaking container, unexpected particles or discoloration in a particular bottle. Keep the bottle and packaging available and ask the manufacturer, the dispensing pharmacy or an eye-care professional for guidance. Do not assume the Tampa findings caused the problem.
Symptoms Override Recall Status
Dry Eye Watch’s safety boundary is that sudden vision changes, significant eye pain or light sensitivity warrant same-day clinical attention. That precaution does not establish that the warning-letter findings caused a reader’s symptoms, and nothing here is a diagnosis or a substitute for clinical care.
Two Other Bausch + Lomb Stories That Are Not This Letter
The Tampa action is separate from a 2011 voluntary recall of Soothe Xtra Protection, also called Soothe XP. That recall concerned testing indicating the preservative might not remain effective throughout the product’s shelf life, and the report said no adverse events had been reported at the time. The 2011 Soothe XP report does not document a current recall or connect that product to the 2026 Tampa inspection.
A retailer action involving a Greenville, South Carolina, facility is also separate. Dry Eye Shop said it paused sales of several Bausch + Lomb-associated products while reviewing manufacturing-compliance concerns. Its notice stated that there were no FDA recalls or product warnings for the named drops, described the pause as the retailer’s own precautionary decision, and acknowledged that some product-to-facility associations had not been formally confirmed. Read the retailer’s Greenville notice.
Products named in that retailer notice are not thereby implicated by the Tampa warning letter. The two events involve different locations, different evidence and different regulatory status.